The Winners of the "Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award"

Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. has established the "Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award" since 2004 with the aim of contributing to the sustainable development of chemistry and the chemical industry. In particular, this award is designed to recognize researchers who have made outstanding achievements in catalysis science.

The winners of the awards are as follows:

Award ceremony and lectures by the winners

*  Assignments and positions are those at the time of receipt of awards.

2014 Winners

The Winner of the "Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award"

F. Dean TosteF. Dean Toste
University of California Berkeley, U.S.A.

"Introduction of Concepts and Catalysts for Organic Synthesis, including those based on Homogeneous Gold Catalysis and Chiral Anion Catalysis"

Professor Toste has pioneered the development of novel catalysts with gold complexes, high-valent metal oxides, and chiral counteranions including: (a) homogeneous low-valent gold catalysts; (b) high-valent metal oxide catalysts; and (c) chiral counteranion-assisted asymmetric metal-free phase-transfer catalysis. More recently he has developed metal catalyst-fermentation hybrid processes for the synthesis of biofuels and chemicals from biomass.

The Winners of the "Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award of Encouragement"

Kazuya YamaguchiShunsuke Chiba
Associate Professor
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

"Development of Single-Electron-Transfer Redox Catalytic Systems for Synthesis of Azaheterocycles"

Hideki YorimitsuNaoya Kumagai
Chief Researcher
Institute of Microbial Chemistry, Japan

"Development of Cooperative Asymmetric Catalysts and their Application to the Streamlined Enantioselective Synthesis of Pharmaceuticals"

Dr. Chiba has developed unique molecular transformations based on single-electron-transfer oxidation-reduction (redox) in the copper-catalyzed aerobic oxidation and in the manganese-catalyzed radical reactions and thereby paved a way to synthesize azaheterocycles, a family of nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compounds that are widely used in medicine, agriculture, and materials science.

Dr. Kumagai has developed novel cooperative asymmetric catalysts with soft Lewis acid/hard Brönsted base and rare earth metal/hydrogen-bonding ligand combinations and thereby achieved the highly efficient enantioselective synthesis of a variety of pharmaceuticals and related chemicals.

Award ceremony and lectures by the winners

Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. presented the winners of the “2014 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award” and the “Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award of Encouragement”, as announced on June 16, with their awards on October 14th.
The winners gave commemorative lectures at the venue.

Award Ceremony and Commemorative Lectures

1. DateOctober 14, 2014
2. VenueTower Hall, Funabori (Edogawa-ku, Tokyo, Japan)
3. Lectures Plenary Lectures
Professor Keiji Maruoka (Kyoto University, Japan)
Dr. Kazuhiko Sato (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)
Commemorative Lectures
2014 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award winner
Professor F. Dean Toste (University of California Berkeley, U.S.A.)
2014 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award of Encouragement winners
Associate Professor Shunsuke Chiba (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Dr. Naoya Kumagai (Institute of Microbial Chemistry, Japan)

Professor F. Dean Toste

Associate Professor Shunsuke Chiba

Dr. Naoya Kumagai