Report on the Fourth Mitsui Chemicals International Symposium on Catalysis Science (MICS2011)

  • Top
  • Message
  • Lectures
  • Catalysis Science Award
  • Topics
  • Japanese


Plenary Lecture

Prof. Sir John E. Walker (Medical Research Council, U.K.)

The Structure and Mechanism of ATP Synthase
Prof. Sir John E. Walker

Prof. Sir John Ernest Walker is a leading authority in the field of molecular biology and is well known for his contribution to mitochondria research. After he established the details of the genetic code of mitochondrial DNA, Prof. Sir John Walker began studying adenosine triphosphate (ATP) synthase from mitochondria and bacteria. He has identified their subunit composition and structure including the catalytic domain, and has elucidated the mechanism of ATP synthesis in detail. For these contributions he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1997 jointly with Prof. Boyer, and he received his knighthood in 1999.

In the lecture, the latest findings on the structure of ATP synthase and the enzymatic mechanism underlying the ATP synthesis were given.

© Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. All Rights Reserved.